Microbiologists Society, India Awards Ceremony

Microbiologists Society, India Awards Ceremony


  • Post By :

  • Source: Microbioz India

  • Date: 25 Jun,2021

Microbiologists Society, India Awards Ceremony was organized on Wednesday 16th June 2021 through virtual mode. Honourable Prof. Pramod Yeole- Vice Chancellor of Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad was the Chief Guest of the Ceremony. Every year MSI carries out this activity to encourage the peoples of Microbiology and Biotechnology to work more and better for the development and expansion of the subject. This is a very good platform for the budding microbiologists too.
In total forty eight National and State level MSI awards were given to all India Microbiologists. Awards were categorized as Best Department award (National 3 & State 5), Best Teacher Award (National 3 & State 9), Young Scientist Award (National 3 & 11), Senior Scientist Award (National 3 & 7), Distinguished Industrial Microbiologists Award (National 2 & State 2).

Best Department Award for National Level
• Department of Microbiology, Ayya NadarJanaki Ammal College (Autonomous), Sivakasi, Virudhunagar District, Tamil Nadu.
• Department of Biosciences, Pramukh Swami Science & H.D. Patel Arts College, HVHP Institute of Post Graduate Studies & Research, S.V Campus, Kadi, Gujarat.
• Department of Microbiology, Kishinchand Chellaram College, Mumbai, M S.

Best Teacher Award for National Level
• Dr. Abul Hasan Sardar, Dept of Microbiology, Sarsuna College, Sarsuna, Kolkata, West Bengal.
• Dr. Subburamu Karthikeyan, Professor of Microbiology, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, India.
• Dr. Tejpal Dhewa, Central University of Haryana, Mahendragarh, Haryana.

Young Scientist Award for National level
• Dr. D. Mubarakali, School of Life Sciences, B.S.A. Crescent Institute of Science & Technology, Chennai, Tamilnadu.
• Dr. Richa Arora, Department of Microbiology, College of Basic Sciences and Humanities,Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana
• Dr. Ashish Warghane, Faculty of Life Sciences, Mandsaur University, Mandsaur, Madhya Pradesh.

Senior Scientist Award for National level
• Dr. Prakash M. Halami, Chief Scientist & Professor-AcSIR. Head, Department of Microbiology & Fermentation Technology; CSIR- Central Food Technological Research Institute, Mysore, Karnataka.
• Dr. Devayani R. Tipre, Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Biotechnology, School of Sciences, Gujarat University, Ahmedabad, Gujarat.
• Dr. Samir R. Damre, Principal Scientist and Head, Analytical Services Division, CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Goa.

Distinguished Industrial Microbiologists Award for National level
• Dr. Girish Mahajan, Vice President-Microbiology Division, HiMedia Laboratories Pvt. Limited, Mumbai, Maharashtra.
• Dr. Deepak Kumar, Executive Director, C/o Nextnode Bioscience Pvt. Ltd., Opposite GEB Office, Kadi-Kalol Road, Kadi-382715, Gujarat.
After awards distribution ceremony, the awardees views have been taken.
From Best Department Award category Prof. C. Ashok from Sivakasi, Tamilnadu expressed his views that wherever we go for ranking and grading, such type of prestigious award is very helpful for academic excellence.
From Best Teacher Award category Dr. Tejpal Dhewa from Mahendragarh, Haryana shows the importance of such awards ceremony as an opportunity for teachers for the prominent upliftment of the society in coming years.
From Young Scientist Award category Dr. Richa Arora from Ludhiana, Punjab was very much thankful for the activities undertaken by MSI for students, faculties and researchers all over India.
From Senior Scientist Award category Dr. Prakash Halami from Mysore, Karnataka has appreciated the efforts taken by MSI to felicitate the COVID warriors which are boosting to the people who serve for the nation in this pandemic.
From Distinguished Industrial Microbiologists Award category Dr. Girish Mahajan from HiMedia Laboratories Ltd. Mumbai, Maharashtra has expressed his privilege that in India excellent and synergistic amalgamation is seen in between industry and academia which help to understand core expertise of each other.
In examiners views, Prof. Shailesh Dave from Ahmedabad, Gujarat has elaborated that MSI is strengthening and encouraging the students, faculties and researchers. He has requested all the awardees to help MSI as per their capacity and convince other colleges to be a part of this society for the betterment of students. He has also emphasized that the MSI President or members never interferes with the decision of juries and admired the transparent and unbiased judgement of different category awards selection process.

Respected Dr. S.D. Patil- Chairman MSI Awards Committee gave overview of award screening process and also inspired for nominations of upcoming awards.
Honourable Dr. Arvind Deshmukh- President MSI has congratulated all awardees for their contribution and motivated them for the excellence in their future endeavours.
Honourable VC Prof. Pramod Yeole elaborated the role and importance of microbiologist in current situation of COVID-19 pandemic. He has focussed about the need of industry-academia collaborations for the career point of view of students. He has suggested that the education system should be choice based so that students can select any subject of their choice which can built up interest in that subject for better scoring. He has mentioned that regional language should be included in the education system. He has expressed that as far as research is concerned, that should not be only for monetary purpose but for the usefulness of the society.
Dr. Manish Bhat – Member Secretary of MSI Awards committee from D.Y. Patil Deemed to be University, Mumbai gave vote of thanks.
The entire MSI Award Ceremony for the session 2019-2020 was compered by Dr. Pranita Gulhane from Shivaji Science College, Congress Nagar, Nagpur.

About Author